Why write this, Aisling?

Words have always been something fascinating for me, because though the sound of them is transient, the meaning is transcendent….

But you don’t care about that. In fact, I don’t know what you care about. I don’t know who you are or why you clicked on this or if you even exist.

I also don’t know why I’m writing this blog post, I only have a vague idea of what I want to get out of it. Before I reveal to you (the imaginary reader) why I write this, let me tell you a story: Flashback to 2012, 14 year old Aisling is underweight. She isn’t underweight because that’s her body’s complexion, she’s underweight because she pukes most of what she ingests. Fast forward to 2013, her arms and legs have small, barely perceptible scars she inflicted on herself by pressing a twisted pen cap on her bare skin. She hates the way she looks, has no friends and hates her family. The funny part is, Aisling is a model. Yes, a model, as in “she gets paid to look pretty”. Now at 18, she has surpassed those problems only to face new ones. This is why she came up with the idea to write invisible blog entries…

I can honestly say I’ve been the catholic god fearing schoolgirl, I’ve been the highschool slut, I’ve been a national speech champion, I’ve been sexually assaulted, I’ve slit my wrists and starved to the bones. And I think here is where I confess why I write:

I write because I want to help a person with the retelling of my stories and my personal views. Just one. Even if that one person might be* myself.

*probably will be

Let’s be fair.

Aisling A.

Leave a comment